top of page

When we jump, we jump hard

I've said this on Twitter, I've said it on a live Periscope broadcast today and I'll say it here to live in all eternity. (Or until I delete this blog)


I, like a few hundred other thousand people on the internet, saw a quick headline and a snippet of a video at a protest march in DC and took the leap. The leap to what would turn out to be a wrong conclusion.


I have a deep respect and connection to tribal customs, elders and ceremonies. It was ingrained into me after working with my son's Boy Scout groups, being in the Order of the Arrow and attending numerous pow wows, ceremonies and talking with so many elders of different Nations.


So, when I perceived, albeit from a skewed perspective, I leaped to the defense of one side without seeing the whole picture of the two sides. It happens, and the only damaging statement I made was that perhaps that since I live close to DC, I should go to these protest and punch asshats in their "pleasure holes" I believe was my quote. I did NOT single one side out for a punch, and I may still need to go monitor protests.


The point is, we all need to settle down, especially in these times of instant viral media coverage and the always present smartphone camera.


Or perhaps, unless we are there, we should mind our own business and wait for the story to play out.


Semper Fortis


Chief Chuck

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On my honor...

Those are the words that begin the Scout Oath. It goes on to speak about doing one's best to live a good life, do what's right, remembering to keep one's mind, body and soul clean and free. Not that i

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page