top of page

Welcome to 2020!

OK, so it's not January 1st anymore. That's what happens when you have a big holiday in the middle of the week. Usually, that week between Christmas and New Year is oddly vaporous and strangely time warped, but put it in the middle of the week and well, time warp again!


I took 2 weeks off from work, but only used 5 days of actual vacation, can't beat those numbers. Such is the life of a desk jockey. But it gave me a chance to unwind, do a lot of reflection and strategize the new year.


After some Twitter drama, I came to the realization that I simply cannot and will not rely on one platform for my work. Follower count is a great dopamine rush, but I'd rather have a handful of engaged and interested readers than a flock of followers.


I also realized that I need to settle into doing content about one or two things I'm good at. The gurus online will tell you that you need to focus on a message, be yourself and provide content of quality. OK, sounds good. I'll give it a shot.


So here's what's coming. I'm going to focus on leadership. Leadership is woefully lacking in the business place today, and I'm ready to teach. It's needed and time is ripe, so look for topics on leadership skills, ideas, thoughts and exercises designed to make you a better leader. Jon Rennie was an inspiration for this after reading his book I Have the Watch (get it here).


I also intend to keep the fun going with some of the many sea stories I have from my 24 years of Navy service. Stories are a fading medium in which to paint the picture of past events and I'm determined to keep it going.


I hope the New Year finds you all healthy and ready to have the best life you can. Let's make 2020 a great year and filled with honor, accountability, service above self and kindness to all.


Semper Fortis


Chief Chuck



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

On my honor...

Those are the words that begin the Scout Oath. It goes on to speak about doing one's best to live a good life, do what's right, remembering to keep one's mind, body and soul clean and free. Not that i

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page